Big, bouncy hair!

dominiqueSome of you have asked me what I’ve been doing differently with my hair lately and how have I created such a full, bouncy style. I’ve also had some comments along the lines of, “You have such thick hair. Mine could never look like that.” Au contraire, my friend. Allow me to introduce you to my latest girl crush and celebrity vlogger, Dominique Sache. As I’ve written in an earlier blog entry, YouTube is an amazing source of beauty tutorials on any subject you can dream up –  the latest makeup technique, the best hairstyle products to achieve specific effects, styling tips for different looks with different cuts – you name it.

When I decided to stop coloring my hair and transition to my natural color – including (gasp) grays – I cut my hair short to help with the transition and have experimented with different styles. I did a lot of research on various short styles, made Pinterest boards, and then I watched some YouTube videos. That’s when I stumbled across Dominique Sache’s video, Bouncy Short Hair Tutorial. Dominique is a TV news anchor for KPRC in Houston, TX. Because she’s a mature woman and a professional broadcaster, her videos are well-produced and get right to the point without a lot of non-essential chit chat. She explains all of the products and styling tools she uses, then proceeds to demonstrate, step by step. In spite of being a public figure, I find her to be refreshingly down-to-earth and funny.

This video will show you how to get big, sexy hair, even if your hair is not naturally thick. If you’re like me and have never been able to master the blow dryer in one hand and round brush in the other, I’ve got a tip: get thee to Ulta or just about any drugstore and buy a round hot air brush. There are many different brands and a variety of price points to suit your budget. Et voila, you’ve combined the two tools into one, making this volumizing drying technique much easier. As Dominique says, we Southern girls all know, “The bigger the hair, the closer to God.”

Save

Save

What are your thoughts?

